old hajdú towns

Coat of arms of the hajdús
These were the 6 most significant hajdú boroughs (Hajdúdorog, Hajdúhadház, Hajdúnánás, Hajdúböszörmény, Hajdúszoboszló and Vámospércs) were hajdús were settled by Bocsakai in 1605-1606, then by his descendants with the collective nobility. Dwellers of these tows were obliged to provide two months of free military service every year in return for privileges. As it was not really needed in the long peaceful years of the 17th century (1606-1660), dwellers of old hajdú towns were rather burgers than soldiers. In 1790 the so-called Hajdú district was formed from these hajdú towns.